Author |
Message |
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 2,005 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting mediadogg: Quote: I never would have thought of that. I wish Microsoft had. I just use the Microsoft api's for saving settings. The reason that I have not compiled for .NET 4 is that I did not want to impact XP users that have not installed it. I think .NET 4 is standard on Windows 7 and 8. No, .NET 4 is not automatically installed on Windows 7, though I think it is on Windows 8. Windows 7 includes at least .NET 2. But Windows XP doesn't by default, though the chances are high, that another application already installed it. I am using .NET 2 when possible for exactly the same reason. My other plugin still uses it. But I needed to switch to .NET 4 for the CCVPlugin, because the plugin shares a lot of code with my CCViewer and I needed .NET 4 in CCViewer for some features. Quoting StaNDarD: Quote:
@TomGaines: I don't know if it's possible with .NET 4 to create that file with 'Version=2.0.0.0'. That would be the 'backwards compatible'-solution. As far as I know not. Except maybe if I overwrite the setting myself by directly accessing the file. But I don't know what side-effect this would have. Then I would be at fault if I break the settings of other plugins Usually Windows writes such a setting file for each .NET application. But because the plugins run in the context of DVD Profiler, they share one file. Seems like Microsoft didn't consider this case. Especially that different .NET versions are used in the same process. | | |
| | | Last edited: by TomGaines |
|
Registered: March 31, 2007 | Posts: 662 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting TomGaines: Quote: Quoting StaNDarD:
Quote: @TomGaines: I don't know if it's possible with .NET 4 to create that file with 'Version=2.0.0.0'. That would be the 'backwards compatible'-solution. As far as I know not. Except maybe if I overwrite the setting myself by directly accessing the file. But I don't know what side-effect this would have. Then I would be at fault if I break the settings of other plugins Usually Windows writes such a setting file for each .NET application. But because the plugins run in the context of DVD Profiler, they share one file. Seems like Microsoft didn't consider this case. Especially that different .NET versions are used in the same process. Could you check your 'app.config', there should be something like sectionGroup name="userSettings" type="System.Configuration.UserSettingsGroup, System, Version=4.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089" in it. Maybe (and I really don't have a clue if this is possible) you can change this to 'Version=2.0.0.0'... | | | |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 2,005 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting StaNDarD: Quote:
Could you check your 'app.config', there should be something like sectionGroup name="userSettings" type="System.Configuration.UserSettingsGroup, System, Version=4.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089" in it. Maybe (and I really don't have a clue if this is possible) you can change this to 'Version=2.0.0.0'... Strangely it also says 2.0.0.0 Maybe because the plugin was originally .NET 2. Maybe this is what was causing all the trouble, because my app.config was not matching my target framework I have generated my appconfig now from scratch. Does anyone want to give it a try if it solves the problem or if it just generates new ones? | | |
| | | Last edited: by TomGaines |
|
Registered: March 31, 2007 | Posts: 662 |
| Posted: | | | | I've send you a PM with my email-address. | | | |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 485 |
| Posted: | | | | As posted in the Database Query plugin thread, the proposed procedure made that plugin work finally.
Just a bit more technical feedback here.
I used to have two user.config files is two separate dubdirectories. Each file pertaining to a different plugin. With the .NET 2 database query first, then the CCV plugin installed, I now have just one such user.config, with XML code for both plugins. Much like the long post from Standard.
It appears that .NET 4 can handle the multiple plugin construction, albeit with the provision that the plugin created with the oldest .NET must be installed first. | | | Eric
If it is important, say it. Otherwise, let silence speak. |
|
Registered: March 18, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 6,461 |
| Posted: | | | | Kudos and Greenies to all who participated in nailing this! | | | Thanks for your support. Free Plugins available here. Advanced plugins available here. Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog. |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Posts: 453 |
| Posted: | | | | Ive deleted Bulk edit from my system but all the edit tags are still listed in my profile how do I delete them without deleting every one of them? |
|
Registered: March 18, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 6,461 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting Mike: Quote: Ive deleted Bulk edit from my system but all the edit tags are still listed in my profile how do I delete them without deleting every one of them? Sorry about those tags. In response to requests, I put in an option to not use them, but once they are there, unfortunately you have to delete the child tags before the top level "Edited" tag can be deleted. Sounds like I need an option to clear those tags built into BE. Alternatively, that might make a nice standalone plugin. It needs to delete the tag from every profile that uses it, then delete the tag itself (not sure a plugin can do this ... I have to double check.) BTW if you care to share why you needed to remove BE, I would be curious if it was causing any issues. You can PM me or post here, if you care to comment at all. Thanks. Edit: I just checked the toolkit. A plugin can do it, but it is a bit tricky. I wouldn't want to rush the code. Probably better to go ahead and tough out doing it manually, unless you can wait for me or another developer to make something and test it well. | | | Thanks for your support. Free Plugins available here. Advanced plugins available here. Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog. | | | Last edited: by mediadogg |
|
Registered: March 18, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 6,461 |
| Posted: | | | | Thanks to Mike for sharing some ideas with me offline. | | | Thanks for your support. Free Plugins available here. Advanced plugins available here. Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog. |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 2,217 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting Mike: Quote: Ive deleted Bulk edit from my system but all the edit tags are still listed in my profile how do I delete them without deleting every one of them? Flag all profiles with Ctrl&a, Collection -> Flagged -> Tags and clear all Child-tags of "Edit" and "Edit" itself at last. Now the tags can be deleted. cya, Mithi | | | Mithi's little XSLT tinkering - the power of XML --- DVD-Profiler Mini-Wiki | | | Last edited: by Mithi |
|
Registered: March 18, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 6,461 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting Mithi: Quote: Quoting Mike:
Quote: Ive deleted Bulk edit from my system but all the edit tags are still listed in my profile how do I delete them without deleting every one of them? Flag all profiles with Ctrl&a, Collection -> Flagged -> Tags and clear all Child-tags of "Edit" and "Edit" itself at last. Now the tags can be deleted.
cya, Mithi Oh my, what would we do without you? | | | Thanks for your support. Free Plugins available here. Advanced plugins available here. Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog. |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Posts: 453 |
| Posted: | | | | hmm, I m missing something, when I goto collection ->flagged -> Set tags -> i dont have that option |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 2,217 |
| Posted: | | | | Quoting Mike: Quote: hmm, I m missing something, when I goto collection ->flagged -> Set tags -> i dont have that option IT-standard-answer: "That shouldn't happen." If you didn't made any personal changes to your layout just reload one of the Invelos standards. Or Tools -> Options -> Utilities -> Reset all Menus ... that should do the samescratch that, this brings back the needed "Tags" but does kills several other things. I was wondering how short the menus got. cya, Mithi | | | Mithi's little XSLT tinkering - the power of XML --- DVD-Profiler Mini-Wiki | | | Last edited: by Mithi |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Posts: 453 |
| Posted: | | | | I changed to Invelos Default flagged all -> Collection -> Flagged
then my menu says Move to -> Set Tags Set Locks Set Exclusions Last Watched Remove from Collection Contribute Adjust Prices Refresh Paste Check for Child Profiles Create Profile Files Add Disc Clone to Manual Clone to DiscID Clone Children from DiscID Delete all discs Clear Collection # Flag Child Profiles |
|
Registered: March 18, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 6,461 |
| Posted: | | | | Working on a patch to BulkEdit to eliminate the "Edited" Tag and children ... | | | Thanks for your support. Free Plugins available here. Advanced plugins available here. Hey, new product!!! BDPFrog. |
|
Registered: March 13, 2007 | Reputation: | Posts: 2,217 |
| Posted: | | | | Okay, we got separated coz I misread your posting: Quoting Mike: Quote: hmm, I m missing something, when I goto collection ->flagged -> Set tags -> i dont have that option You do. If you go to "Set Tags" the tag-window pops up, showing all existing tags as either: checked => this tag is present on all flagged profiles unchecked => not present on any profile filled => present on any number of profiles Now you just have to click until all "Edited"-related fields are empty. HTH, Mithi | | | Mithi's little XSLT tinkering - the power of XML --- DVD-Profiler Mini-Wiki | | | Last edited: by Mithi |
|